goodreadsFacebooktwitterpinterestInstagramContact Us

Awards Creators

landing awards

When we decided to acknowledge the authors who touch our souls so profoundly with a special award, the look and feel of the memento was not taken lightly. It had to express the essence of our club as readers and as proud Black women. We give two major awards annually: Author of the Year and New Author of the Year.

Each award is created using our logo as inspiration. Master pottery artist Orah-el creates our Author of the Year award and glass artist Ken Wright creates the New Author of the Year award.

Author of the Year Award Creator

orah elOrah-el
Author of the Year Award Creator

Each year, our honored Author of the Year receives an Orah-el Award Plaque that combines our remarkable logo with the power of mother earth in hand-crafted elegance. Though all awards share a similar design, each one's uniqueness is enhanced by the clay, which is distinctive to the area in which Orah-el is working at the time, thereby adding to its one-of- a-kind  "craftswomanship." Orah-el's own art, which has always incorporated images of family, lovers and spirituality, is featured in notable art collections and art galleries around the world.

author awardWhen asked what inspires her to create such works of art, Orah-El eloquently states: "My work comes from that quiet space inside, where the Creator and I are one. I spend all of my time in Paradise shaping the clay into the pottery you see today. I know each piece is for someone special, so I put that love and peace into everything I do." It is this ethic that ensures that every award we present is an irreplaceable and special work of art, just like our authors who receive them.

Print Email